MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2005 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution	No	57	_(EC)
------------	----	----	-------

Introduced by:

Ray Tenorie
L. F. Kasperbauer
E.B. Calvo

Relative to recognizing the Guam Chamber of Commerce on the occasion of their 81st Anniversary, to congratulate and recognize their Member Anniversary Celebrants, and to express a *un Dångkolo Na Si Yu'os Ma'åse'* to its members for their many valuable contributions to the people of Guam.

BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce, established in 1924, has survived foreign occupations, World War II, numerous typhoons, and economic crisis; and

WHEREAS, notable businessmen Pedro Martinez, Chester Carl Butler, H.U. Umstad, Baltazar J. Bordallo, William G. Johnston, J.M. Gillespie and A.H. White, established and chartered the Guam Chamber of Commerce on April 26, 1924 contributing their time, influence and financial resources to the chamber organization; and

WHEREAS for more than eight decades the Guam Chamber of Commerce has served as the catalyst for business opinions and have represented the business needs on our island; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce has helped numerous

. . garanti (1885)

A.

化基础环境 化二氯化 网络阿拉森语 电二十二人 起头的 化环烷基酚 电电影电影 THE REPORT OF THE PARTY OF THE PARTY OF THE PARTY OF THE PARTY. But the first the Butter of the same of the same of the and the company of the section of the company of the section of th

The first of the control of the cont

. .

and the state of the state of the property of the state o $\{x_i^{(k)}\}_{i=1}^k = \{x_i^{(k)}, \dots, x_i^{(k)}\}_{i=1}^k = \{x_i^{$

and the state of t The transfer of the contract o the contract of the contract o

small businesses open their doors, prosper and grow, thus continuing the growth of our local economy, and further serving our people; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce currently has a membership of more than three hundred twenty members and continues to thrive every year; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce has twenty-eight of their members celebrating their membership anniversaries of twenty years to sixty years of membership; and

WHERAS, in 1992 the Guam Chamber of Commerce established the Guam Business Hall of Fame to commemorate Guam's business visionaries; and

WHEREAS, among the first inductees to the Guam Business Hall of Fame was Guam Chamber of Commerce founding member Pedro Pangelinan Martinez, Kenneth T. Jones, Jr., Jesus Sablan Leon Guerrero, Governor Joseph Flores, and Eduardo Torres Calvo; and

WHEREAS, in 1998 the Guam Chamber of Commerce formed the Armed Forces Committee to promote Guam as a rest and relaxation destination for armed forces in the area and to increase local business opportunities for contracting with the military on the island; and

WHEREAS, during the past five years the Guam Chamber of Commerce continued its active involvement and support of community projects to include the Guam Juvenile Drug Court Program, the Summer Youth Swimming and Water Safety Program, the annual Christmas Program, and the Dave J. Santos Scholarship; and

WHEREAS, this anniversary of the Guam Chamber of Commerce marks the 60th membership anniversary of the Jones & Guerrero Company, Inc.; 55th membership anniversary of Foremost Foods, Inc., Mobil Oil Guam, Inc., the Pacific Daily News, and Pay-Less Supermarkets; 50th membership anniversary of Aon Insurance Micronesia (Guam), Inc.; 40th membership anniversary of Money Resources, Inc.; 35th membership anniversary of Cassidy's Insurance, Inc., and First Hawaiian Bank; 30th membership anniversary of Cabras Marine Corporation, Calvo Enterprises, Inc., Guam Fast Foods, Inc., Guam International Trade Center, Inc., Kings Restaurant, LLC, Metropolitan Bank & Trust Co., Guam Branch, and Pacific International Holdings, Inc.; 25th membership anniversary for Ada's Trust and Investment, Inc., Baumann Advertising, Goodwind Development Corporation, Management Advisory Services, Motorola, Inc., and Pacific Islands Club; 20th membership anniversary of Carrier Guam, Inc., College Assurance Plan Guam, Inc., DHX Ocean Freight Forwarders, Dick Pacific Construction Co., Ltd., (Guam), Dickerson & Quinn, Ltd., and R&C Tours, (Guam), Inc.; and now therefore be it

RESOLVED, that *I Mina'Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam congratulate the Guam Chamber of Commerce on the occasion of their 81st Anniversary and does hereby commend the hard work and commitment of the leadership of the members who are the driving forces behind the immeasurable achievements for their valuable contributions to the people of Guam; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive

Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to the President of the Guam Chamber of Commerce, Eloise R. Baza, and the 2005 Guam Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors, Chairman Monty A. Mc Dowell, Vice Chairman, Monte D.M. Mesa, Secretary-Treasurer, Jerold W. Filush, Special Executive Committee Member, Philip J. Flores; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE _____ DAY OF APRIL 2005.

MARK FORBES
Speaker and
Chairman, Executive Committee

EDWARD J.B. CALVO
Senator and
Secretary of the Legislature